August 15, 2019

(** = New Message, Yellow Highlighted items are for today, Red Highlights are important schedule changes, Blue Highlights are coming soon)

Upcoming Dates to Remember:
Thursday, 8/15: VOTECH begins! Meet the bus in the Ag Shop parking lot by 7:00am / Thursday, 8/15: HS Office will be CLOSED
Open House: Monday, 8/19 from 6-8pm / First Day of School: Wednesday, 8/21 8:20am - 3:16pm

 Bus/Van Schedule:


Sports & Activities News:
High School Fall Sports practice start Monday, 8/12 with the following schedule unless told otherwise by the coach:
High School Football (HS FB): Monday - Friday 3:30-6:30pm
High School Cross Country (XC): Monday - Friday 7-7:45am (Meet at the Community Building)
High School Softball (HS SB): Monday - Wednesday 7-10am, Thursday 3:30-6:30pm, Friday 6-7:45am.
Middle School Sports practices will begin Monday, 8/19 (softball, football). More detailed information regarding practices for these will be sent out on Thursday, 8/15.
Each student athlete participating will need a completed physical on file before being allowed to participate. (NEW MSHSAA Physicals: Part 1 (Dr. part) is good for two years, Part 2 (Insurance) needs to be filled out by parent/guardian annually)

New MSHSAA Policy allows Sports Physicals to be good for 2 years now (24months from date of issue). There is a new physical form for this and new additional paperwork to be done each year by the parent/guardian. For questions see Greg Keith, A.D.

For summer sports/activities information for 7th - 12th grades, please contact the following coaches via email;
Football - High School/Middle School
Reid Stephens- stephensr@polo.k12.mo.us

Basketball - High School/Middle School

Girls, Greg Keith - keithg@polo.k12.mo.us
Boys, Morgan Dickson - dicksonm@polo.k12.mo.us

Softball
High School, Becky Ross - rossre@polo.k12.mo.us
Middle School, Courtney Phipps - phippsc@polo.k12.mo.us

Wrestling - High School/Middle School
Kelvin Knisely - kniselyk@polo.k12.mo.us

Cross Country - High School
Morgan Dickson- dicksonm@polo.k12.mo.us

Band - High School/Middle School
Andrew Dunker- dunkera@polo.k12.mo.us

Cheer - High School/Middle School
High School, Amy Walker- walkeram@polo.k12.mo.us
Middle School, Meghan Stevens- stevensm@polo.k12.mo.us

Weights - High School/Middle School
Ryan Shroyer- shroyerr@polo.k12.mo.us

Announcements:
CIEE, the world leader in international exchange, is looking for families in the Polo school district to host one of our international high school students for one or two semesters during the upcoming school year. Host families come in all shapes and sizes kids, no kids, empty nesters, single parents, etc. In return for hosting, families learn about a different culture, enjoy lifelong friendships with students, fulfill the dream of a young person, and become global ambassadors in their own communities! For more information on hosting please contact Alicia Morgan at aliciasbagconnection@gmail.com or 816-724-0549 cell 816-528-3370 home.

Polo R-VII School District offers several resources to help all families, not just those who qualify for free and reduced lunch services. Polo R-VII School teams up with Think Local to offer holiday assistance to families throughout the district for children ages birth- 12th grade. If you are interested in receiving additional information about this program, please contact Becky Arway, School Counselor at 660-354-2524 ext. 154 or ArwayR@polo.k12.mo.us.

Counseling and Career Center: